Fan Fiction: Superhuman Chapter 12

It was two in the afternoon as Chris drove around downtown looking for Taylor. He didn’t even bother to check at her loft because he knew either Shad or Austin would be there, besides she started school a few days ago so she wouldn’t even be home.

Chris: Where are you?
Taylor: In class.
Chris: Are you coming out soon? There’s something I need to tell you
Taylor: Class just started, Chris. Meet me at Washington Sq. Park in an hour

This gave Chris more than enough time to think about everything he had to say and how he was going to say it.

“How the hell am I supposed to start this?” he asked himself; he was already losing patience with himself. Chris never really had many friends, most of his life he was isolated from the outside world. The only true real friend he ever had was Justin and that was only because they were similar and  Chris never had to explain his life because Justin shared the same story.

“So… when I was 10 I was kidnapped by a group of people who tried to seek revenge on my father,” he started saying to himself. There was a knock on the passenger door and he unlocked the doors to let Taylor in.

“Who were you just talking to?” Taylor asked dropping her books into the backseat. This whole situation just felt awkward, normally Taylor would kiss him whenever she saw him or at least smile but she seemed serious and annoyed.

“I was just singing,” Chris answered and smiled as they both looked at the radio which was turned off.

“So what’s up?” Taylor asked, “You disappeared that day and you haven’t called me in two days.”

Chris sighed, “I don’t know, I just felt uncomfortable and I only left before I did something I’d regret.”

“How’d you leave? There’s no fire escape and the door was locked,” she said looking at him with a curious look on her face.

“What are we?” he randomly asked.

“What are you talking about?”

“What am I to you? What are we?” he asked again pointing to himself and her.

“We’re a couple,” she answered, “You’re my boyfriend and I’m your girlfriend, I guess. Chris, what’s going on? I’m confused,” her voice cracked.

“Listen, I know I haven’t known you for that long but I really like you, a lot and if you feel the same I think there’s something you should know.”

“I already told you that I loved you. You’re not like anyone I’ve ever met and you just make me feel different, Chris; a good different. I haven’t been this happy in a while,” Taylor answered.

Chris stared off in front of him and he felt Taylor staring at him, he sensed that she was worried and scared.

“When I was ten years old I was kidnapped. My dad was a doctor for this company and he hadn’t realized that  they weren’t the type of medical companies that wanted to cure diseases, they wanted to create something, something my dad didn’t agree with. It was a normal Sunday morning, my mom was cooking my dad was in his office and I was upstairs in my room. It was just a normal day until I heard my mom scream and people yelling. I ran downstairs, my first instinct was to figure out was wrong but I should’ve hid. When I got to the kitchen my mom was lying on the kitchen floor dead, they had shot her. I ran to my dad’s office and he was trying to fight off these men I had never seen before. He yelled at me to run to leave as fast as I could and when I ran out of the office and out the front door they got me and that’s when I heard another gunshot, they killed my father too,” he looked over at Taylor who wasn’t even looking at him anymore.

“They took me away and I had no family left. It wasn’t even on the news, that’s how well they covered it all up. They experimented on me with what my father had invented, that’s what made me who I am. I’m not normal, Taylor. I have incredible strength and senses; they trained me to do horrible things, they turned me into a monster and made me kill people for their benefit.”

“So you’re saying you’re like the incredible Hulk like a superhero or something?” she asked him; she still didn’t look at him but she didn’t seem scared either.

“I guess, my appearance doesn’t change but this is who I am. I’m done with that life though, I just recently finished.”

“Recently? What does that mean?”

“I ran away a few years ago and they just found me. They paid me off I guess you can say. I had  to do one last thing and I did but now I don’t have to worry about them anymore,” he explained. There was complete silence in the car for a few minutes as Taylor thought of everything she just heard.

“So that’s how you left the other day? Did you fly away or something?” Taylor asked.

“I can’t fly, it’s just my agility and the power I gain when I jump. You’re not afraid of me, right? Everything they had me do I hated it but that was my means of survival,” he said.

“Chris, that’s your past,” she answered, looking at him, “I’m not afraid of you cause the person you used to be isn’t the person I fell in love with.”

Chris sighed, he was relieved that she wasn’t going to leave him like everyone else he used to love. “I just wanted to tell you before someone else did.”

“Who else knows?”

“Justin does, he’s just like me.”

“I’m glad you trust me enough to tell me all of this,” she told him as she leaned closer to him and softly kissed him on the cheek and held onto his hand, “I have to get back to class. I’ll go over to your place later.” And with another kiss goodbye she grabbed her books from the backseat, stepped out of the car, and walked into a building down the street. Chris felt like a huge weight was lifted off of his shoulders. He didn’t have to live his life afraid, paranoid, or lying anymore. He met someone who accepted and loved him for who he was and he was glad that she was so understanding. But then he wondered why it didn’t bother her so much and why she so easily understood his past or why she wasn’t afraid, was she hiding something too?

About Natalie
Communications Major Aspiring Journalist and Stylist

Leave a Reply

